Bellagio, also known as the pearl of Lake Como, is a charming and romantic village unique for its urban architecture characterized by narrow alleys, long stairways, lively shops, pastel-colored buildings and a unique lakefront. After a nice walk in the historical center of Bellagio, why not to stop and admire the landscape with the green mountains and the blue waters of the lake? Impossible not to notice the marvelous Villas, which adorn the panorama with elegance, witnesses of a prestigious past that saw Lake Como as a reference point for European nobles and writers.
THE HISTORICal VILLAS IN BELLAGIO
Many are the villas that enrich Lake Como and that certainly deserve a visit to admire and learn about their history, tradition and culture.
In this article, in particular, we want to focus on two prestigious Bellagio Villas:
Villa Melzi d’Eril
VILLA MELZI D’ERIL BELLAGIO
It was built between 1808 and 1810 as a summer residence commissioned by the Duke of Lodi, Francesco Melzi d’Eril (1753 – 1816), who gave it in charge to the neoclassical architect Giocondo Albertolli (1742 – 1839).
Of particular importance are the wonderful English gardens, designed by Luigi Canonica and Luigi Villoresi (curators of the Monza Park), which extend harmoniously along the shores of the lake.
Inside the gardens of Villa Melzi, besides the rich vegetation, consisting of different and colorful species of flowers, plants and trees (even exotic), you can admire unique and original sculptures.
TIMETABLES AND PERIOD TO VISIT IT
Indicatively from March to October, every day, at the following times: 9.30 am- 18.30 pm
VILLA SERBELLONI BELLAGIO
Besides Villa Melzi d’Eril, of particular importance in Bellagio is also Villa Serbelloni, majestic and enchanting for its architecture, history and, of course, botanical gardens.
It was initially owned by the Sfondrati family in 1522, then the ownership passed in 1788 to Count Alessandro Serbelloni, who brought the villa to its maximum splendor.
He concentrated a lot on the outside part, in particular on the park, realizing 18 km of carriage tracks and paths.
In 1870 the villa was rented to Antonio Mella, who transformed it into a hotel, and was later acquired by the American Ella Walker, who left it as an inheritance to the Rockefeller Foundation in 1959.
Nowaday the villa is the Foundation’s headquarter for conferences and study accomodation.
Only the gardens are opened to the public, embellished by the presence of statues, artificial caves and a rich and varied vegetation, even tropycal species, according to the taste of the time.
It is important to emphasize that the park of Villa Serbelloni is open to the public only with guided tours of about 1 hour and a half, for a minimum of 6 people up to a maximum of 30.
TIMETABLES AND PERIOD for visit
Indicatively from March to November, from 11am to 2.30pm, every day except Monday and in case of bad weather.